2019 Indie Spirit Awards Winners: 'If Beale Street Could Talk' Finally Gets The Love It Deserves

The 2019 Independent Spirit Awards were last night, honoring the best in independent cinema before Hollywood gathers for the Academy Awards. Even though some movies that ended up nominated for Oscars took home trophies last night, the best thing to come out of the 2019 Indie Spirit Awards winners was the love shown to If Beale Street Could Talk. The film from Barry Jenkins movie that didn't get anywhere near the amount of accolades it deserved from the Academy Awards, but last night it took home Best Feature and Best Director, not to mention further affirmation of Regina King's work as Best Supporting Actress.

Get the full list of 2019 Indie Spirit Awards winners below.

Along with big awards going to If Beale Street Could Talk, the Oscar-nominated Can You Ever Forgive Me? walked away with some more awards. Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty won Best Screenplay, which could be a good sign for their win on Oscar night, and Richard E. Grant won Best Supporting Actor for his charming and heartbreaking role.

Eighth Grade landed another award for writing with the award for Best First Screenplay going to Bo Burnham. This comes after the upset of the film winning Best Original Screenplay from the Writers Guild of America.

Meanwhile, Oscar nominee Glenn Close continued a winning streak for her lead role in The Wife, and Ethan Hawke got the attention he deserved for starring in First Reformed. The latter isn't nominated for an Oscar, so there's no chance of an upset there, but it's a performance deserves plenty of recognition.

Anyway, get the rest of the 2019 Indie Spirit Awards winners below (in bold)

BEST FEATUREEighth GradeFirst ReformedIf Beale Street Could TalkLeave No TraceYou Were Never Really HereBEST DIRECTOR

Debra Granik, Leave No Trace

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could TalkTamara Jenkins, Private LifeLynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really HerePaul Schrader, First Reformed


HereditarySorry to Bother YouThe TaleWe the AnimalsWildlifeBEST FEMALE LEADGlenn Close, The WifeToni Collette, HereditaryElsie Fisher, Eighth GradeRegina Hall, Support the GirlsHelena Howard, Madeline's MadelineCarey Mulligan, WildlifeBEST MALE LEAD

John Cho, Searching

Daveed Diggs, BlindspottingEthan Hawke, First ReformedChristian Malheiros, SocratesJoaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here


Kayli Carter, Private Life

Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace

J. Smith-Cameron, Nancy


Raúl Castillo, We the Animals

Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansmanRichard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?Josh Hamilton, Eighth GradeJohn David Washington, Monsters and Men BEST SCREENPLAY

Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette

Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?Tamara Jenkins, Private LifeBoots Riley, Sorry to Bother YouPaul Schrader, First ReformedBEST FIRST SCREENPLAYBo Burnham, Eighth GradeChristina Choe, NancyCory Finley,  ThoroughbredsJennifer Fox, The TaleQuinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard (Story By), BlameBEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Ashley Connor, Madeline's Madeline

Diego Garcia, WildlifeBenjamin Loeb, MandySayombhu Mukdeeprom, SuspiriaZak Mulligan, We the Animals


Joe Bini, You Were Never Really HereKeiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar, We the AnimalsLuke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart, American AnimalsAnne Fabini, Alex Hall and Gary Levy, The TaleNick Houy, Mid90sBEST DOCUMENTARYHale County This Morning, This EveningMinding the GapOf Fathers and SonsOn Her ShouldersShirkersWon't You Be My Neighbor?BEST INTERNATIONAL FILMBurning (South Korea)The Favourite  (United Kingdom)Happy as Lazzaro (Italy)Roma (Mexico)Shoplifters (Japan)


Debra Granik

Tamara Jenkins

Karyn Kusama


A Bread FactoryEn el Septimo DiaNever Goin' BackSocratesThunder Road

PRODUCERS AWARD – The 22nd annual Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams

Gabrielle Nadig

Shrihari SatheSOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 25th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.Alex Moratto, Director of SócratesIoana Uricaru, Director of LemonadeJeremiah Zagar, Director of We the AnimalsTRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 24th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Alexandria Bombach, Director of On Her Shoulders

Bing Liu, Director of Minding the GapRaMell Ross, Director of Hale County This Morning, This EveningROBERT ALTMAN AWARDSuspiria