Doom Patrol Season 3: Release Date, Cast, And More

(Welcome to ...And More, our no-frills, zero B.S. guide to when and where you can watch upcoming movies and shows, and everything else you could possibly stand to know.)

The DC comic book series "Doom Patrol" is getting a third season, and based on what we know so far, it looks like things are going to get bonkers. As Willoughby Kipling (Mark Sheppard) says in the teaser trailer: "We're all the way through the looking glass now."

Read on to find out all we know so far about season 3 of "Doom Patrol."

Doom Patrol Season 3 Release Date and Where You Can Watch It

The first three episodes of "Doom Patrol" season 3 will debut September 23, 2021 with subsequent episodes launching weekly every Thursday through November 11 on HBO Max. The first two seasons of the show are currently available on HBO Max.

What Is Doom Patrol?

"Doom Patrol" is a DC Comics series that focuses on a bunch of superpowered freaks who are one part support group, one part superhero team. They also try to save the world, even though the world doesn't like them very much.

Doom Patrol Synopsis

Here's the official synopsis for the show and season 3 from HBO Max:

"Doom Patrol" reimagines one of DC's most beloved groups of Super Heroes: Robotman AKA Cliff Steele (Brendan Fraser), Negative Man AKA Larry Trainor (Matt Bomer), Elasti-Woman AKA Rita Farr (April Bowlby), Crazy Jane (Diane Guerrero) and Cyborg AKA Victor Stone (Joivan Wade), all led by modern-day mad scientist Niles Caulder AKA The Chief (Timothy Dalton). Each member of the Doom Patrol suffered a horrible accident that gave them superhuman abilities, but also left them scarred and disfigured. Part support group, part Super Hero team, the Doom Patrol is a band of superpowered freaks who fight for a world that wants nothing to do with them.

Season three opens on the culmination of Dorothy's (Abi Monterey) confrontation with the Candlemaker that leads to a devastating loss. The Doom Patrol is at a difficult crossroads and each member struggles to face who they are and who they want to be. And things get a whole lot more complicated when Madame Rouge (Michelle Gomez) arrives in a time machine with a very specific mission, if only she could remember it.

Doom Patrol Season 3 Director, Writers, And More

Jeremy Carver created "Doom Patrol" and has writing credits on every episode along with Shoshana Sachi. Tom Farrell, Eric Dietel, Tanya Steele, and Tamara Becher are also part of the writing team. Several directors have worked on "Doom Patrol," including Chris Manely, Harry Jierjian, Dermott Downs, and Kristin Windell.

"Doom Patrol" is produced by Berlanti Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television with Jeremy Carver, Geoff Johns, Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter, Chris Dingess and Tamara Becher-Wilkinson serving as executive producers. The series is based on characters created for DC by Arnold Drake, Bob Haney and Bruno Premiani.

Doom Patrol Cast

"Doom Patrol" stars Brendan Fraser as Robotman, AKA Cliff Steele, Matt Bomer as Negative Man, AKA Larry Trainor, April Bowlby as Elasti-Woman, AKA Rita Farr, Diane Guerrero as Crazy Jane, Joivan Wade as Cyborg, AKA Victor Stone, and Timothy Dalton as mad scientist Niles Caulder, AKA The Chief. Other cast members in season 3 include Skye Roberts as Kay Challis, Ty Tennant as Edwyn Payne, Abi Monterey as Dorothy Spinner, Shay Mack as Driller Bill, Wynn Everett as The Fog, AKA Shelley Byron, and Mark Sheppard as Willoughby Kipling.

Doom Patrol Season 3 Trailer