'Better Call Saul', 'Ted Lasso', And 'The Great' Lead 2021 WGA Nominations

Better Call Saul may be routinely snubbed by major awards bodies like the Golden Globes, but at least the members of the Writers Guild of America are acknowledging the AMC crime series as one of the best-written shows on TV. Better Call Saul rightfully leads the pack at the 2021 WGA nominations, which were announced by the Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) and Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) today. The winners will be awarded at the 2021 Writers Guild Awards virtual ceremony on Sunday, March 21, 2021.Better Call Saul earned the most WGA nominations this year, with 5 nods, including Best Drama Series, and three nominations for the episodes "Bad Choice Road," "JMM," and "Something Unforgivable." Closely following behind were Apple TV+'s beloved underdog comedy series Ted Lasso and Hulu's historical comedy series The Great, both with three nominations.

See the full list of WGA nominees below.

DRAMA SERIESBetter Call SaulWritten by Ann Cherkis, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Ariel Levine, Heather Marion, Thomas Schnauz, Gordon Smith, Alison Tatlock; AMCThe BoysWritten by Eric Kripke, Ellie Monahan, Anslem Richardson, Craig Rosenberg, Michael Saltzman, Rebecca Sonnenshine; Amazon StudiosThe Crown, Written by Peter Morgan, Jonathan Wilson; NetflixThe Mandalorian, Written by Rick Famuyiwa, Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni; Disney+Ozark, Written by Laura Deeley, Bill Dubuque, Paul Kolsby, Miki Johnson, Chris Mundy, John Shiban, Ning Zhou, Martin Zimmerman; NetflixCOMEDY SERIESCurb Your Enthusiasm, Written by Larry David, Justin Hurwitz, Steve Leff, Carol Leifer, Jeff Schaffer; HBOThe GreatWritten by Vanessa Alexander, Tony McNamara, Tess Morris, Amelia Roper, Gretel Vella, James Wood; Hulu PEN15, Written by; Alyssa DiMari, Maya Erskine, Anna Konkle, Josh Levine, Gabe Liedman, Rachele Lynn, Vera Santamaria, Diana Tay, Sam Zvibleman; HuluTed Lasso, Written by Jane Becker, Leann Bowen, Brett Goldstein, Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Bill Lawrence, Jamie Lee, Jason Sudeikis, Phoebe Walsh, Bill Wrubel; Apple TV+What We Do in the Shadows, Written by Jake Bender, Jemaine Clement, Zach Dunn, Joseph Furey, Shana Gohd, Sam Johnson, Chris Marcil, William Meny, Sarah Naftalis, Stefani Robinson, Marika Sawyer, Paul Simms; FX NetworksNEW SERIESDave, Written by Dave Burd, Vanessa McGee, Saladin Patterson, Luvh Rakhe, Alex Russell, Jeff Schaffer, Max Searle, Yamara Taylor; FX NetworksThe Flight Attendant, Written by Kara Lee Corthron, Michael Foley, Ryan Jennifer Jones, Ticona S. Joy, Meredith Lavender, Jess Meyer, Daniele Nathanson, Marcie Ulin, Ian Weinreich, Steve Yockey; HBO MaxThe Great, Written by Vanessa Alexander, Tony McNamara, Tess Morris, Amelia Roper, Gretel Vella, James Wood; HuluLovecraft Country, Written by Misha Green, Shannon Houston, Jonathan Kidd, Kevin Lau, Ihuoma Ofordire, Wes Taylor, Sonya Winton; HBOTed Lasso, Written by Jane Becker, Leann Bowen, Brett Goldstein, Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Bill Lawrence, Jamie Lee, Jason Sudeikis, Phoebe Walsh, Bill Wrubel; Apple TV+ORIGINAL LONG FORMDirty John: The Betty Broderick StoryWritten by Aaron Carew, Alexandra Cunningham, Lex Edness, Kevin J. Hynes, Juliet Lashinsky-Revene, Stacy A. Littlejohn, Katherine B. McKenna; USA HollywoodWritten by Ian Brennan, Janet Mock, Ryan Murphy, Reilly Smith; Netflix Mrs. America, Written by Tanya Barfield, Joshua Griffith, Sharon Hoffman, Boo Killebrew, Micah Schraft, April Shih, Dahvi Waller; FX NetworksSafetyWritten by Nick Santora; Disney+Uncle Frank, Written by Alan Ball; Amazon StudiosADAPTED LONG FORMBad Education, Written by Mike Makowsky, Based on the New York Magazine article " The Bad Superintendent" by Robert Kolker; HBO CloudsScreenplay by Kara Holden; Story by Casey La Scala & Patrick Kopka and Kara Holden, Based on the book entitled "Fly A Little Higher' by Laura Sobiech; Disney+The Good Lord BirdWritten by Jeff Augustin, Ethan Hawke, Erika L. Johnson, Mark Richard, Kristen SaBerre, Lauren Signorino, Based on the Novel by James McBride; ShowtimeLittle Fires EverywhereWritten by Harris Danow, Rosa Handelman, Shannon Houston, Attica Locke, Raamla Mohamed, Amy Talkington, Liz Tigelaar, Nancy Won, Based on the book by Celeste Ng; Hulu The Queen's GambitWritten by Scott Frank, Allan Scott, Based on the novel by Walter Tevis; NetflixORIGINAL & ADAPTED SHORT FORM NEW MEDIA#FREERAYSHAWN, Written by Marc Maurino; QuibiBetter Call Saul Employee Training: Legal Ethics with Kim Wexler, Written by Ariel Levine; AMC Digital on YouTubeMost Dangerous Game, Written by Nick Santora, Story by Josh Harmon and Scott Elder; Quibi* Per Writers Guild Awards submission rules, if there are insufficient entries in any category, those entries may be placed in another category.ANIMATION"A Springfield Summer Christmas For Christmas" (The Simpsons), Written by Jessica Conrad; Fox"Bart The Bad Guy" (The Simpsons), Written by Dan Vebber; Fox"I, Carumbus" (The Simpsons), Written by Cesar Mazariegos; Fox"Prank You for Being A Friend" (Bob's Burgers), Written by Katie Crown; Fox"Three Dreams Denied" (The Simpsons), Written by Danielle Weisberg; Fox"Xerox of a Xerox" (BoJack Horseman), Written by Nick Adams; NetflixEPISODIC DRAMA"Bad Choice Road" (Better Call Saul), Written by Thomas Schnauz; AMC"Fire Pink" (Ozark), Written by Miki Johnson; Netflix"JMM" (Better Call Saul), Written by Alison Tatlock; AMC"Raised by Wolves" (Raised by Wolves), Written by Aaron Guzikowski; HBO Max"Something Unforgivable" (Better Call Saul), Written by Peter Gould & Ariel Levine; AMC"Trouble Don't Last Always" (Euphoria), Written by Sam Levinson; HBOEPISODIC COMEDY"Grandma & Chill" (Awkwafina Is Nora from Queens), Written by Kyle Lau; Comedy Central"The Great" (The Great)Written by Tony McNamara; Hulu"It's Not You, It's Me" (Dead to Me), Written by Liz Feldman & Kelly Hutchinson; Netflix"Pilot" (Ted Lasso), Teleplay by Jason Sudeikis & Bill Lawrence, Story by Jason Sudeikis & Bill Lawrence & Brendan Hunt & Joe Kelly; Apple TV+"The Tank" (Grace & Frankie), Written by Alex Kavallierou; Netflix"Trick" (High Maintenance), Written by Isaac Oliver; HBO