'Nomadland' Dominates 2021 BAFTA Awards, 'Promising Young Woman' Wins Best British Film

Nomadland is on the road to the top with its latest awards show success. Chloé Zhao's Western road drama dominated the 2021 BAFTA Awards, winning the four top prizes including Best Picture on Sunday night. It's another notch on Nomadland's belt as the film charts a steady course for the Oscars later this month.Nomadland swept the 2021 British Academy Film Awards at a virtual ceremony Sunday night, which marked a few historic wins. Chloé Zhao became only the second woman, and the first woman of color, to win the BAFTA for best director for her work on Nomadland. And going into the ceremony, the 2021 BAFTA nominees were hailed as being the most diverse in the award body's history, with 16 of the 24 actors coming from racial or ethnic minority backgrounds, and a record four women shortlisted for best director.Nomadland took the top four prizes, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress for star Frances McDormand, and Cinematography. Meanwhile, Emerald Fennell's revenge film Promising Young Woman won Best British Film, while Anthony Hopins won Best Actor for his performance as a man grappling with dementia in The Father.

In the other performance categories, Daniel Kaluuya won Best Supporting Actor for Judas and the Black Messiah while Yuh-Jung Youn won Best Supporting Actress for Minari. And it was Youn who won the night in her acceptance speech, joking that the award was especially meaningful as she found the British to be "snobbish."

Here are the winners for the 2021 BAFTA Awards (via The Hollywood Reporter):

Best FilmNomadland - WINNERThe FatherThe MauritanianPromising Young WomanThe Trial Of The Chicago 7Leading ActressFrances Mcdormand, Nomadland - WINNERBukky Bakray, Rocks

Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version

Vanessa Kirby, Pieces Of A Woman

Wunmi Mosaku, His House

Alfre Woodard, Clemency

Leading ActorAnthony Hopkins, The Father - WINNERRiz Ahmed, Sound Of Metal

Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Adarsh Gourav, The White Tiger

Mads Mikkelsen, Another Round

Tahar Rahim, The Mauritanian

DirectorNomadland, Chloé Zhao – WINNERAnother Round, Thomas VinterbergBabyteeth, Shannon MurphyMinari, Lee Isaac ChungQuo Vadis, Aida?, Jasmila Žbani?Rocks, Sarah GavronRising Star

Bukky Bakray – WINNER

Conrad Khan

Kingsley Ben-Adir

Morfydd Clark

Sope Dirisu

Outstanding British FilmPromising Young Woman - WINNERCalm With HorsesThe DigThe FatherHis HouseLimboThe MauritanianMogul MowgliRocksSaint MaudOriginal ScoreSoul, Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – WINNERMank, Trent Reznor, Atticus RossMinari, Emile MosseriNews Of The World, James Newton HowardPromising Young Woman, Anthony WillisDocumentaryMy Octopus Teacher - WINNERCollectiveDavid Attenborough: A Life On Our PlanetThe DissidentThe Social DilemmaOutstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or ProducerHis House, Remi Weekes (Writer/Director) – WINNERLimbo, Ben Sharrock (Writer/Director), Irune Gurtubai (Producer) [Also Produced By Angus Lamont]Moffie, Jack Sidey (Writer/Producer) [Also Written By Oliver Hermanus And Produced By Eric Abraham]Rocks, Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (Writers)Saint Maud, Rose Glass (Writer/Director), Oliver Kassman (Producer) [Also Produced By Andrea Cornwell]Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya, Judas And The Black Messiah - WINNER

Barry Keoghan, Calm With Horses

Alan Kim, Minari

Leslie Odom Jr., One Night In Miami...

Clarke Peters, Da 5 Bloods

Paul Raci, Sound Of Metal

Original ScreenplayPromising Young Woman, Emerald Fennell – WINNERAnother Round, Tobias Lindholm, Thomas VinterbergMank, Jack FincherRocks, Theresa Ikoko, Claire WilsonThe Trial Of The Chicago 7, Aaron SorkinSupporting ActressYuh-Jung Youn, Minari - WINNERNiamh Algar, Calm With Horses

Kosar Ali, Rocks

Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Dominique Fishback, Judas And The Black Messiah

Ashley Madekwe, County Lines

CinematographyNomadland, Joshua James Richards – WINNERJudas And The Black Messiah, Sean BobbittMank, Erik MesserschmidtThe Mauritanian, Alwin H. KüchlerNews Of The World, Dariusz WolskiFilm Not In The English LanguageAnother Round - WINNERDear Comrades!Les MisérablesMinariQuo Vadis, Aida?EditingSound Of Metal, Mikkel E.G. Nielsen – WINNERThe Father, Yorgos LamprinosNomadland, Chloé ZhaoPromising Young Woman, Frédéric ThoravalThe Trial Of The Chicago 7, Alan BaumgartenAdapted ScreenplayThe Father, Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller – WINNERThe Dig, Moira BuffiniThe Mauritanian, Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, M.B. TravenNomadland, Chloé ZhaoThe White Tiger, Ramin BahraniAnimated FilmSoul - WINNEROnwardWolfwalkers

Below awards were announced on Saturday

SoundSound Of Metal, Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc – WINNERGreyhound, Beau Borders, Christian P. Minkler, Michael Minkler, Warren Shaw, David WymanNews Of The World, Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver TarneyNomadland, Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf SnyderSoul, Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David ParkerSpecial Visual EffectsTenet, Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley – WINNERGreyhound, Pete Bebb, Nathan Mcguinness, Sebastian Von OverheidtThe Midnight Sky, Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, David WatkinsMulan, Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth MauryThe One And Only Ivan, Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg FisherBritish Short AnimationThe Owl And The Pussycat, Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf – WINNERThe Fire Next Time, Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade KolbeThe Song Of A Lost Boy, Daniel Quirke, Jamie Macdonald, Brid ArnsteinBritish Short FilmThe Present, Farah Nabulsi – WINNEREyelash, Jesse Lewis Reece, Ike Ike NewmanLizard, Akinola Davies, Rachel Dargavel, Wale DaviesLucky Break, John Addis, Rami Sarras PantojaMiss Curvy, Ghada EldemellawyProduction DesignMank, Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale – WINNERThe Dig, Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana MacdonaldThe Father, Peter Francis, Cathy FeatherstoneNews Of The World, David Crank, Elizabeth KeenanRebecca, Sarah Greenwood, Katie SpencerMakeup & HairMa Rainey's Black Bottom, Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal – WINNERThe Dig, Jenny ShircoreHillbilly Elegy, Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew MungleMank, Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi WilliamsPinocchio, Mark CoulierCostume DesignMa Rainey's Black Bottom, Ann Roth – WINNERAmmonite, Michael O'connorThe Dig, Alice BabidgeEmma, Alexandra ByrneMank, Trish SummervilleCastingRocks, Lucy Pardee – WINNERCalm with Horses, Shaheen BaigJudas and the Black Messiah, Alexa L. FogelMinari, Julia KimPromising Young Woman, Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu