2018 Visual Effects Society Awards: 'Blade Runner 2049', 'Planet Of The Apes', And More

Say what you will about 2017, but last year's crop of movies was pretty damn good overall, and that high bar of quality is reflected in the nominees for the 16th annual VES Awards. Nearly 3,400 artists, producers, technologists, and entertainment industry workers narrowed down the movies that best represented outstanding achievements in visual effects, and Blade Runner 2049 and War for the Planet of the Apes ended up tying for the highest number of feature film nominations. Meanwhile, HBO's Game of Thrones leads the pack in terms of television programs, and the fantasy series earned the most overall nominations. See the major nominees for the 2018 Visual Effects Society Awards below.

Instead of judging a movie based on a combination of its script, performances, directing, cinematography, etc., the Visual Effects Society dials into the aspect they care about the most – which may at least partially account for the reason Despicable Me 3 has five total nominations. Yikes.

The organization's full list is incredibly long and super specific (we're talking categories like "Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature"), so I'll paste a majority of the nominees below and those of you who are interested in the whole list can read it here.

Outstanding Visual Effects in a Photoreal FeatureBlade Runner 2049

John Nelson

Karen Murphy Mundell

Paul Lambert

Richard Hoover

Gerd Nefzer

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Christopher Townsend

Damien Carr

Guy Williams

Jonathan Fawkner

Dan Sudick

Kong: Skull Island

Jeff White

Tom Peitzman

Stephen Rosenbaum

Scott Benza

Michael Meinardus

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Ben Morris

Tim Keene

Eddie Pasquarello

Daniel Seddon

Chris Corbould

War for the Planet of the Apes

Joe Letteri

Ryan Stafford

Daniel Barrett

Dan Lemmon

Joel Whist

Outstanding Supporting Visual Effects in a Photoreal FeatureDarkest Hour

Stephane Naze

Warwick Hewett

Guillaume Terrien

Benjamin Magana


James E. Price

Susan MacLeod

Lindy De Quattro

Stéphane Nazé


Andrew Jackson

Mike Chambers

Andrew Lockley

Alison Wortman

Scott Fisher


Dan Schrecker

Colleen Bachman

Ben Snow

Wayne Billheimer

Peter Chesney

Only the Brave

Eric Barba

Dione Wood

Matthew Lane

Georg Kaltenbrunner

Michael Meinardus

Outstanding Visual Effects in an Animated FeatureCaptain Underpants

David Soren

Mark Swift

Mirielle Soria

David Dulac

Cars 3

Brian Fee

Kevin Reher

Michael Fong

Jon Reisch


Lee Unkrich

Darla K. Anderson

David Ryu

Michael K. O'Brien

Despicable Me 3

Pierre Coffin

Chris Meledandri

Kyle Balda

Eric Guillon

The LEGO Batman Movie

Rob Coleman

Amber Naismith

Grant Freckelton

Damien Gray

The LEGO Ninjago Movie

Gregory Jowle

Fiona Chilton

Miles Green

Kim Taylor

Outstanding Visual Effects in a Photoreal EpisodeAgents of S.H.I.E.L.D.; Orientation Part 1

Mark Kolpack

Sabrina Arnold

David Rey

Kevin Yuille

Gary D'Amico

Game of Thrones; Beyond the Wall

Joe Bauer

Steve Kullback

Chris Baird

David Ramos

Sam Conway

Legion; Chapter 1

John Ross

Eddie Bonin

Sebastien Bergeron

Lionel Lim

Paul Benjamin

Star Trek: Discovery; The Vulcan Hello

Jason Michael Zimmerman

Aleksandra Kochoska

Ante Dekovic

Mahmoud Rahnama

Stranger Things 2; The Gate

Paul Graff

Christina Graff

Seth Hill

Joel Sevilla

Caius the Man

Outstanding Animated Character in a Photoreal FeatureBlade Runner 2049; Rachael

Axel Akkeson

Stefano Carta

Wesley Chandler

Ian Cooke-Grimes

Kong: Skull Island; Kong

Jakub Pistecky

Chris Havreberg

Karin Cooper

Kris Costa

War for the Planet of the Apes; Bad Ape

Eteuati Tema

Aidan Martin

Florian Fernandez

Mathias Larserud

War for the Planet of the Apes; Caesar

Dennis Yoo

Ludovic Chailloleau

Douglas McHale

Tim Forbes

Outstanding Animated Character in an Episode or Real-Time ProjectBlack Mirror: Metalhead

Steven Godfrey

Stafford Lawrence

Andrew Robertson

Lestyn Roberts

Game of Thrones; Beyond the Wall; Zombie Polar Bear

Paul Story

Todd Labonte

Matthew Muntean

Nicholas Wilson

Game of Thrones; Eastwatch; Drogon Meets Jon

Jonathan Symmonds

Thomas Kutschera

Philipp Winterstein

Andreas Krieg

Game of Thrones; The Spoils of War; Drogon Loot Train Attack

Murray Stevenson

Jason Snyman

Jenn Taylor

Florian Friedmann

Outstanding Created Environment in a Photoreal FeatureBlade Runner 2049; Los Angeles

Chris McLaughlin

Rhys Salcombe

Seungjin Woo

Francesco Dell'Anna

Blade Runner 2049; Trash Mesa

Didier Muanza

Thomas Gillet

Guillaume Mainville

Sylvain Lorgeau

Blade Runner 2049; Vegas

Eric Noel

Arnaud Saibron

Adam Goldstein

Pascal Clement

War for the Planet of the Apes; Hidden Fortress

Greg Notzelman

James Shaw

Jay Renner

Gak Gyu Choi

War for the Planet of the Apes; Prison Camp

Phillip Leonhardt

Paul Harris

Jeremy Fort

Thomas Lo

As much as I loved War for the Planet of the Apes (it's on my top 10 list!), I have to admit I'm pulling for Blade Runner 2049 to take home the big award here. What a gorgeous piece of work. The voting period lasts from January 25 until February 6, 2018, and the organization's awards gala will be held on February 13, 2018.