Independent Spirit Awards Go To 'Birdman,' 'Boyhood,' And 'Nightcrawler'

The Independent Spirit Awards were handed out in Santa Monica this afternoon, and the crop of winners includes two accolades for Nightcrawler, two for Boyhood, and three for Birdman, including Best Feature. Whiplash also did well, and in general the Indie Spirit awards this year lined up very strongly with the Oscar predictions we and many other people have made. Check out all the winners for the Independent Spirit Awards 2015 below.

Winners are indicated by bold text in the list of nominees for each category.

Best Feature

  • Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • Boyhood
  • Love is Strange
  • Selma
  • Whiplash

Best Director

  • Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
  • Ava DuVernay, Selma
  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood
  • David Zellner, Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Best Screenplay

  • Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, Big Eyes
  • J.C. Chandor, A Most Violent Year
  • Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler
  • Jim Jarmusch, Only Lovers Left Alive
  • Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, Love is Strange

Best First Feature

  • A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
  • Dear White People
  • Nightcrawler
  • Obvious Child
  • She's Lost Control

Best First Screenplay

  • Desiree Akhavan, Appropriate Behavior
  • Sara Colangelo, Little Accidents
  • Justin Lader, The One I Love
  • Anja Marquardt, She's Lost Control
  • Justin Simien, Dear White People

John Cassavetes Award

Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive producers are not awarded.

  • Blue Ruin
  • It Felt Like Love
  • Land Ho!
  • Man From Reno
  • Test

Best Female Lead

  • Marion Cotillard, The Immigrant
  • Rinko Kikuchi, Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Jenny Slate, Obvious Child
  • Tilda Swinton, Only Lovers Left Alive

Best Male Lead

  • André Benjamin, Jimi: All Is By My Side
  • Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
  • Michael Keaton, Birdman
  • John Lithgow, Love is Strange
  • David Oyelowo, Selma

Best Supporting Female

  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
  • Jessica Chastain, A Most Violent Year
  • Carmen Ejogo, Selma
  • Andrea Suarez Paz, Stand Clear of the Closing Doors
  • Emma Stone, Birdman

Best Supporting Male

  • Riz Ahmed, Nightcrawler
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • Alfred Molina, Love is Strange
  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Cinematography

  • Darius Khondji, The Immigrant
  • Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman
  • Sean Porter, It Felt Like Love
  • Lyle Vincent, A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
  • Bradford Young, Selma

Best Editing

  • Sandra Adair, Boyhood
  • Tom Cross, Whiplash 
  • John Gilroy, Nightcrawler
  • Ron Patane, A Most Violent Year
  • Adam Wingard, The Guest

Best Documentary

  • 20,000 Days on Earth
  • Citizenfour
  • Stray Dog
  • The Salt of the Earth
  • Virunga

Best International Film

  • Force Majeure
  • Ida
  • Leviathan
  • Mommy
  • Norte, the End of History
  • Under the Skin

Robert Altman Award

(Given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast)

Inherent Vice

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson

Casting Director: Cassandra Kulukundis

Ensemble Cast: Josh Brolin, Martin Donovan, Jena Malone, Joanna Newsom, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short, Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Katherine Waterston, Michael Kenneth Williams, Owen Wilson, Reese Witherspoon

Special Distinction Award


Piaget Producers Award: Chris Ohlson

Lenscrafters Truer Than Fiction Award: Dan Krauss, director of The Kill Team

Kiehl's Someone To Watch Award: Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia, directors of H