'Selma,' 'Boyhood' And Birdman' Among 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees

Hollywood has the Oscars, and the good movies have the Film Independent Spirit Awards. That's a joke, but these days it's becoming more and more true as politicking and advertising become increasingly important for the Academy Awards. The Spirit Awards are obviously not immune to such factors, but by limiting themselves to films with smaller budgets, the Spirit Awards generally celebrate some of the best films of the year.

The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominations have now been revealed and it's a lot of films that are expected to play big throughout all awards season. Boyhood, Birdman, Whiplash, Selma and others have all garnered nominations. Even genre favorites like The One I Love, A Girl Who Walks Home Alone At Night and The Guest got nods. Check out the full list below.

Here's the full list of nominees for the 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

BEST FEATURE - (Award given to the Producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole


Producers: Richard Linklater, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, Cathleen Sutherland

Love is Strange

Producers: Lucas Joaquin, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, Jay Van Hoy


Producers: Christian Colson, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Oprah Winfrey


Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster, Michael Litvak


Damien Chazelle - Whiplash

Ava DuVernay - Selma

Alejandro G. Iñárritu - Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Richard Linklater - Boyhood

David Zellner - Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter


Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski - Big Eyes

J.C. Chandor - A Most Violent Year

Dan Gilroy - Nightcrawler

Jim Jarmusch - Only Lovers Left Alive

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias - Love is Strange

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Director: Ana Lily Amirpour

Producers: Justin Begnaud, Sina Sayyah

Dear White People

Director/Producer: Justin Simien

Producers: Effie T. Brown, Ann Le, Julia Lebedev, Angel Lopez, Lena Waithe


Director: Dan Gilroy

Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy, Jake Gyllenhaal, David Lancaster, Michel Litvak

Obvious Child

Director: Gillian Robespierre

Producer: Elisabeth Holm

She's Lost Control

Director/Producer: Anja Marquardt

Producers: Mollye Asher, Kiara C. Jones


Desiree Akhavan - Appropriate Behavior

Sara Colangelo - Little Accidents

Justin Lader - The One I Love

Anja Marquardt - She's Lost Control

Justin Simien - Dear White People

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.

Blue Ruin

Writer/Director: Jeremy Saulnier

Producers: Richard Peete, Vincent Savino, Anish Savjani

It Felt Like Love

Writer/Director/Producer: Eliza Hittman

Producers: Shrihari Sathe, Laura Wagner

Land Ho!

Writers/Directors: Aaron Katz & Martha Stephens

Producers: Christina Jennings, Mynette Louie, Sara Murphy

Man From Reno

Writer/Director: Dave Boyle

Writers: Joel Clark, Michael Lerman

Producer: Ko Mori


Writer/Director/Producer: Chris Mason Johnson

Producer: Chris Martin


Marion Cotillard - The Immigrant

Rinko Kikuchi -Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Julianne Moore - Still Alice

Jenny Slate - Obvious Child

Tilda Swinton - Only Lovers Left Alive


André Benjamin - Jimi: All Is By My Side

Jake Gyllenhaal - Nightcrawler

Michael Keaton - Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

John Lithgow - Love is Strange

David Oyelowo - Selma


Patricia Arquette - Boyhood

Jessica Chastain - A Most Violent Year

Carmen Ejogo - Selma

Andrea Suarez Paz - Stand Clear of the Closing Doors

Emma Stone - Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)


Riz Ahmed - Nightcrawler

Ethan Hawke - Boyhood

Alfred Molina - Love is Strange

Edward Norton - Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

J.K. Simmons - Whiplash


Darius Khondji - The Immigrant

Emmanuel Lubezki - Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Sean Porter - It Felt Like Love

Lyle Vincent - A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Bradford Young - Selma


Sandra Adair - Boyhood

Tom Cross - Whiplash

John Gilroy - Nightcrawler

Ron Patane - A Most Violent Year

Adam Wingard - The Guest

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

20,000 Days on Earth

Directors: Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard

Producers: Dan Bowen, James Wilson


Director/Producer: Laura Poitras

Producers: Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky

Stray Dog

Director: Debra Granik

Producer: Anne Rosellini

The Salt of the Earth

Directors: Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and Wim Wenders

Producer: David Rosier


Director/Producer: Orlando von Einsiedel

Producer: Joanna Natasegara

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

Force Majeure


Director: Ruben Östlund



Director: Pawel Pawlikowski



Director: Andrey Zvyagintsev



Director: Xavier Dolan

Norte, the End of History


Director: Lav Diaz

Under the Skin

(United Kingdom)

Director: Jonathan Glazer

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast)

Inherent Vice

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson

Casting Director: Cassandra Kulukundis

Ensemble Cast: Josh Brolin, Martin Donovan, Jena Malone, Joanna Newsom, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Katherine Waterston, Michael Kenneth Williams, Owen Wilson, Reese Witherspoon



Director/Producer: Bennett Miller

Producers: Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik

Writers: E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman

Actors: Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum

18th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 18th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Chad Burris

Elisabeth Holm

Chris Ohlson

21st ANNUAL KIEHL'S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 21st annual Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Kiehl's Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl's Since 1851.

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Director: Ana Lily Amirpour


Directors: Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia

The Retrieval

Director: Chris Eska

20th ANNUAL LENSCRAFTERS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 20th annual Truer Than Fiction Award, sponsored by LensCrafters is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by LensCrafters.

Approaching the Elephant

Director: Amanda Rose Wilder

Evolution of a Criminal

Director: Darius Clark Monroe

The Kill Team

Director: Dan Krauss

The Last Season

Director: Sara Dosa