86th Academy Award Nominations: 'American Hustle', 'Gravity', And '12 Years A Slave' Are The Ones To Beat

Chris Hemsworth and AMPAS president Cheryl Boone Isaacs woke up early this morning to announce the nominees for the 86th Academy Awards. American Hustle and Gravity led with ten nominations each, while 12 Years a Slave picked up nine. The Wolf of Wall Street fared better than many had predicted, snagging nominations in the Best Picture and Best Director categories. Nebraska also had a fairly strong showing, with nods for both Bruce Dern and June Squibb.

On the flip side, Saving Mr. Banks and Inside Llewyn Davis were largely overlooked, while Rush and Lee Daniels' The Butler were shut out altogether (sorry, Oprah). Tom Hanks failed to secure a nomination for Captain Phillips, although his co-star Barkhad Abdi managed to get one. And while it's not really surprising to see smaller films like Frances Ha, Fruitvale Station, and Short Term 12 get no love, it's disappointing nonetheless. But hey, at least Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa gets to refer to itself as an Oscar nominee now.

Read the full list after the jump.

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper, American Hustle

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts, August: Osage County

June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Original Song

"Alone Yet Not Alone," Alone Yet Not Alone, music by Bruce Broughton and lyric by Dennis Spiegel

"Happy," Despicable Me 2, music and lyric by Pharrell Williams

"Let It Go," Frozen, music and lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

"The Moon Song," Her, music by Karen O; lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze

"Ordinary Love," Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen and lyric by Paul Hewson

Best Adapted ScreenplayBefore Midnight, written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan HawkeCaptain Phillips, screenplay by Billy RayPhilomena, screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope12 Years a Slave, screenplay by John RidleyThe Wolf of Wall Street, screenplay by Terence WinterBest Original ScreenplayAmerican Hustle, written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. RussellBlue Jasmine, written by Woody AllenDallas Buyers Club, written by Craig Borten & Melisa WallackHer, written by Spike JonzeNebraska, written by Bob NelsonBest Animated Feature FilmThe CroodsDespicable Me 2Ernest and CelestineFrozenThe Wind RisesBest Documentary FeatureThe Act of KillingCutie and the BoxerDirty WarsThe Square20 Feet From StardomBest Foreign Language FilmThe Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)The Great Beauty (Italy)The Hunt (Denmark)The Missing Picture (Cambodia)Omar (Palestine)Best Director

David O. Russell, American Hustle

Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Amy Adams, American Hustle

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Judi Dench, Philomena

Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Christian Bale, American Hustle

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Best PictureAmerican HustleCaptain PhillipsDallas Buyers ClubGravityHerNebraskaPhilomena12 Years a SlaveThe Wolf of Wall StreetBest CinematographyThe Grandmaster, Philippe Le SourdGravity, Emmanuel LubezkiInside Llewyn Davis, Bruno DelbonnelNebraska, Phedon PapamichaelPrisoners, Roger A. DeakinsBest Costume DesignAmerican Hustle, Michael WilkinsonThe Grandmaster, William Chang Suk PingThe Great Gatsby, Catherine MartinThe Invisible Woman, Michael O'Connor12 Years a Slave, Patricia NorrisBest Documentary Short SubjectCaveDigger, Jeffrey KaroffFacing Fear, Jason CohenKarama Has No Walls, Sara IshaqThe Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas ReedPrison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall, Edgar BarensBest Film EditingAmerican Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan BaumgartenCaptain Phillips, Christopher RouseDallas Buyers Club, John Mac McMurphy and Martin PensaGravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger12 Years a Slave, Joe WalkerBest Makeup and HairstylingDallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee and Robin MathewsJackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen ProutyThe Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-CasnyBest Original ScoreThe Book Thief, John WilliamsGravity, Steven PriceHer, William Butler and Owen PallettPhilomena, Alexandre DesplatSaving Mr. Banks, Thomas NewmanBest Production DesignAmerican Hustle, Judy Becker (Production Design) and Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration)Gravity, Andy Nicholson (Production Design) and Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration)The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin (Production Design) and Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration)Her, K.K. Barrett (Production Design) and Gene Serdena (Set Decoration)12 Years a Slave, Adam Stockhausen (Production Design) and Alice Baker (Set Decoration)Best Animated Short FilmFeral, Daniel Sousa and Dan GoldenGet a Horse!, Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKimMr. Hublot, Laurent Witz and Alexandre EspigaresPossessions, Shuhei MoritaRoom on the Broom, Max Lang and Jan LachauerBest Live-Action Short FilmAquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me), Esteban CrespoAvant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything), Xavier Legrand and Alexandre GavrasHelium, Anders Walter and Kim MagnussonPitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?), Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka SaariThe Voorman Problem, Mark Gill and Baldwin LiBest Sound EditingAll Is Lost, Steve Boeddeker and Richard HymnsCaptain Phillips, Oliver TarneyGravity, Glenn FreemantleThe Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent BurgeLone Survivor, Wylie StatemanBest Sound MixingCaptain Phillips, Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris MunroGravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris MunroThe Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony JohnsonInside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. KurlandLone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David BrownlowBest Visual EffectsGravity, Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil CorbouldThe Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric ReynoldsIron Man 3, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan SudickThe Lone Ranger, Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John FrazierStar Trek Into Darkness, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

Winners will be announced in a ceremony hosted Sunday, March 2 by Ellen DeGeneres.