2013 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Include 'Beasts Of The Southern Wild,' 'Silver Linings Playbook,' And 'Moonrise Kingdom'

One of the first big award season nomination sets went out this morning: the Independent Spirit Awards, which highlight achievement in (obviously) independent productions. The big films in this year's nominations were Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom; David O Russell's Silver Linings Playbook, and newcomer Benh Zeitlin's Sundance hit Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Here are the Nominees for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer)

Beasts of the Southern WildMichael Gottwald, Dan Janvey & Josh Penn, Producers

BernieLiz Glotzer, Richard Linklater, David McFadzean, Dete Meserve, Judd Payne, Celine Rattray, Martin Shafer, Ginger Sledge, Matt Williams, Producers

Keep the Lights On: Marie Therese Guirgis, Lucas Joaquin, Ira Sachs, Producers

Moonrise Kingdom: Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales, Scott Rudin, Producers

Silver Linings Playbook: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon, Producers

Best Director

Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom

Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)

Fill the Void: Rama Burshtein, director; Assaf Amir, producer

Gimme the Loot: Adam Leon, director; Dominic Buchanan, Natalie Difford, Jamund Washington, producers

Safety Not Guaranteed: Colin Trevorrow, director; Derek Connolly, Stephanie Langhoff, Peter Saraf, Colin Trevorrow, Marc Turtletaub, producers

Sound of My Voice: Zal Batmanglij, director; Brit Marling, Hans Ritter, Shelley Surpin, producers

The Perks of Being a Wallflower:  Stephen Chbosky, director; Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith, producers

John Cassavetes Award

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)

Breakfast with Curtis: Laura Colella, writer/director/producer

Middle of Nowhere: Ava DuVernay, writer/director/producer; Howard Barish, Paul Garnes, producers

Mosquita y Mari:  Aurora Guerrero, writer/director; Chad Burris, producer

Starlet:  Sean Baker, co-writer/director; Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri, producers; Chris Bergoch, co-writer

The Color Wheel:  Alex Ross Perry, writer/director/producer; Carlen Altman, writer

Best Screenplay

Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom

Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks

Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

Best First Screenplay

Rama BurshteinFill the Void

Derek ConnollySafety Not Guaranteed

Christopher FordRobot & Frank

Rashida Jones & Will McCormackCeleste and Jesse Forever

Jonathan LiseckiGayby

Best Female Lead

Linda Cardellini, Return

Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Best Male Lead

Jack Black, Bernie

Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

John Hawkes, The Sessions

Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On

Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe

Wendell Pierce, Four

Best Supporting Female

Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister's Sister

Ann Dowd, Compliance

Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice

Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere

Michael Péna, End of Watch

Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths

Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom


Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints

Lol Crawley, Here

Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch

Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)

How to Survive a Plague: David France, director; David France, Howard Gertler, producers

Marina Abramovi?: The Artist is Present: Matthew Akers, director; Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre, producers

The Central Park Five: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon, directors/producers

The Invisible War:  Kirby Dick, director; Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering, producers

The Waiting Room:  Peter Nicks, director/producer; Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch, producers

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)

Amour, Michael Haneke

Once Upon A Time in Anatolia, Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Rust And Bone, Jacques Audiard

Sister, Ursula Meier

War Witch, Kim Nguyen

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Nobody Walks, Alicia Van Couvering

Prince Avalanche, Derrick Tseng

Stones in the Sun, Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Pincus, David Fenster

Gimme the Loot, Adam Leon

Electrick Children, Rebecca Thomas

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Leviathan: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel, directors

The Waiting Room: Peter Nicks, director

Only the Young: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims, directors

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film's director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Starlet: Sean Baker, director; Julia Kim, Casting Director; Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone,  Ensemble Cast