World Soundtrack Award Nominees: There Will Be Greenwood

The World Soundtrack Awards have announced the nominations for the 2008 Award show.

Film Composer of the Year

Alexandre Desplat, "The Golden Compass"

James Newton Howard, "Charlie Wilson's War," "Michael Clayton," "I Am Legend"

Alberto Iglesias, "The Kite Runner"

Dario Marianelli, "Atonement"

John Powell, "The Bourne Ultimatum"

Best Original Score of the Year

"3:10 to Yuma" by Marco Beltrami

"Atonement" by Dario Marianelli

"The Kite Runner" by Alberto Iglesias

"There Will Be Blood" by Jonny Greenwood

"WALL-E" by Thomas Newman

Best Original Song Written Directly for Film

"Despdida" from "Love in the Time of Cholera," music by Antonio Pinto and Shakira, lyrics by Shakira, performed by Shakira

"Down to Earth" from "WALL-E," music by Thomas Newman and Peter Gabriel, lyrics by Peter Gabriel, performed by Peter Gabriel

"Do You Feel Me" from "American Gangster," music and lyrics by Diane Warren, performed by Anthony Hamilton

"Guaranteed" from "Into the Wild," music and lyrics by Eddie Vedder, performed by Eddie Vedder

"A Hero Comes Home" from "Beowulf," music and lyrics by Glen Ballard and Alan Silvestri, performed by Robin Wright Penn / Idina Menzel

The 8th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards will take place on October 18th 2008. We agree with The Playlist's assessment: It's great to see Radiohead's Johnny Greenwood finally getting some recognition for his incredible There Will Be Blood score. Greenwood was left out of Oscar contention due to stupid technicalities.