2008 Sundance Film Festival Award Winners

The 2008 Sundance Film Festival comes to a close tomorrow, and the award winners have just been announced. Here are the major winners from this year's festival:

Alfred P Sloan Memorial Prize: Sleep Dealer

American Cinema:

Grand Jury Dramatic: Frozen River

Dramatic Audience Award: The Wackness

Dramatic Screenwriting Award: Sleep Dealer, Alex Rivera, David RikerDramatic Directing Award: Lance Hammer, BallastDramatic Special Jury Prize for "the Spirit of Independent Cinema": Chusy Haney-Jardine for Anywhere, USADramatic Special Jury Prize for "Work by an Ensemble Cast": Sam Rockwell, Anjelica Huston, Kelly MacDonald and Brad Henke for ChokeDramatic Cinematography Award: Ballast, Lol CrawleyDocumentary Grand Jury Prize: Trouble the Water

Documentary Audience Award: Fields of Fuel

Documentary Directing Award: Nanette Burnstein, American TeenDocumentary Special Jury Prize: The Greatest Silence: Rape in the CongoDocumentary Cinematography Award: Patti Smith: Dream of LifeDocumentary Editing Award: Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired, Joe Bini

World Cinema:

Documentary Jury Prize: Man on WireDocumentary Audience Award: Man on WireDocumentary Cinematography Award: Mahmoud al Massad, RecycleDocumentary Editing Award: Irena Dol, The Art Star and the Sudanese TwinsDocumentary Directing Award: Nino Kirtadze for Durakovo: Village of FoolsDramatic Jury Prize: The King of Ping PongDramatic Cinematography Award: Askilld Vik Edvardsen, King of Ping PongDramatic Screenwriting: Samuel Benchetrit, I Always Wanted to be a GangsterDramatic Directing: Anna Melikyan, MermaidDramatic Audience Award: Captain abu Raed

Short Films:

International Jury Prize: SoftJury Prize: My Olympic Summer and Sikumi

It's great to see The Wackness, American Teen, Sleep Dealer and Choke took home some top awards.