2019 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations: 'We The Animals', 'Eighth Grade' And 'First Reformed' Lead The Pack

Awards season is officially in full swing as the folks at Film Independent have officially announced the nominations for the 2019 Independent Spirit Awards, honoring achievements in independent film for the year 2018.

Jeremiah Zagar's film We the Animals led the indie pack with five total nominations. But coming in close behind are two wildly different A24 films, Bo Burnham's coming of age comedy Eighth Grade and Paul Schrader's challenging drama First Reformed, each with four nominations. Other films landing nods include You Were Never Really Here, Hereditary, The Tale and more

Get the full list of the 2019 Independent Spirit Award nominations below.

BEST FEATUREEighth GradeFirst ReformedIf Beale Street Could TalkLeave No TraceYou Were Never Really Here


HereditarySorry to Bother YouThe TaleWe the AnimalsWildlifeBEST FEMALE LEAD

Glenn Close, The Wife

Toni Collette, HereditaryElsie Fisher, Eighth GradeRegina Hall, Support the GirlsHelena Howard, Madeline's MadelineCarey Mulligan, WildlifeBEST MALE LEAD

John Cho, Searching

Daveed Diggs, BlindspottingEthan Hawke, First ReformedChristian Malheiros, SocratesJoaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really HereBEST DIRECTOR

Debra Granik, Leave No Trace

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could TalkTamara Jenkins, Private LifeLynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really HerePaul Schrader, First ReformedBEST DOCUMENTARYHale County This Morning, This EveningMinding the GapOf Fathers and SonsOn Her ShouldersShirkersWon't You Be My Neighbor?BEST SUPPORTING MALE

Raúl Castillo, We the Animals

Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansmanRichard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?Josh Hamilton, Eighth GradeJohn David Washington, Monsters and Men BEST SCREENPLAY

Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette

Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?Tamara Jenkins, Private LifeBoots Riley, Sorry to Bother YouPaul Schrader, First ReformedBEST FIRST SCREENPLAY

Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

Christina Choe, NancyCory Finley,  ThoroughbredsJennifer Fox, The TaleQuinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard (Story By), Blame


Joe Bini, You Were Never Really Here

Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar, We the AnimalsLuke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart, American AnimalsAnne Fabini, Alex Hall and Gary Levy, The TaleNick Houy, Mid90s


Debra Granik

Tamara Jenkins

Karyn Kusama

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILMBurning (South Korea)The Favourite  (United Kingdom)Happy as Lazzaro (Italy)Roma (Mexico)Shoplifters (Japan)


A Bread FactoryEn el Septimo DiaNever Goin' BackSocratesThunder Road


Kayli Carter, Private Life

Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace

J. Smith-Cameron, Nancy


Ashley Connor, Madeline's Madeline

Diego Garcia, WildlifeBenjamin Loeb, Mandy

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria

Zak Mulligan, We the AnimalsPRODUCERS AWARD – The 22nd annual Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams

Gabrielle Nadig

Shrihari Sathe

SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 25th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Alex Moratto, Director of Sócrates

Ioana Uricaru, Director of LemonadeJeremiah Zagar, Director of We the AnimalsTRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 24th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Alexandria Bombach, Director of On Her Shoulders

Bing Liu, Director of Minding the GapRaMell Ross, Director of Hale County This Morning, This EveningROBERT ALTMAN AWARDSuspiria


The 2019 Independent Spirit Awards will be held on February 23, 2019 and will be broadcast live on IFC