DC Comics Movies Announced: 'Suicide Squad,' 'Wonder Woman,' 'Justice League,' 'The Flash,' 'Aquaman'

Warner Bros. did its big shareholder talk this morning, and took the opportunity to drop some big release date info. The biggest is the studio's upcoming plans for superhero films, and massive DC movie plans were revealed.

Suicide Squad will be the first DC film to follow Batman v Superman, with a plan for release in 2016. Then things get really big. In 2017 we'll see Wonder Woman and Justice League, with 2018 bringing The Flash (with Ezra Miller starring) and Aquaman. In 2019 WB plans Shazam and Justice League 2.

Finally, studio head Kevin Tsujihara says there are plans coming together for Cyborg (played by Ray Fisher in Batman v Superman), a Green Lantern reboot, and additional standalone Batman and Superman films.

Ben Fritz originally reported details of the shareholder's call. Here's info from the official press release:

  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice," directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
  • "Suicide Squad," directed by David Ayer (2016)
  • "Wonder Woman," starring Gal Gadot (2017)
  • "Justice League Part One," directed by Zack Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
  • "The Flash," starring Ezra Miller (2018)
  • "Aquaman," starring Jason Momoa (2018)
  • "Shazam" (2019)
  • "Justice League Part Two," directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
  • "Cyborg," starring Ray Fisher (2020)
  • "Green Lantern" (2020)
  • If you want to see a complete listing of all the superhero movies coming out from 2014 to 2020, check out our Comprehensive Look At The Future of Comic Book Movies [Superhero Movie Release Date Calendar].

    So we've got the announcement that Ezra Miller will play the Flash on the big screen, and (via Ben Fritz) confirmation that Dwayne Johnson will play Black Adam in Shazam, and that Jason Momoa will get his own Aquaman movie. Ray Fisher will star in the Cyborg film, and Gal Gadot will be Wonder Woman.

    Zack Snyder will direct both Justice League films.Plugging these titles into previously announced release dates, we've got a DC schedule that looks like this.

  • Aug. 5, 2016: Suicide Squad
  • June 23, 2017: Wonder Woman
  • Nov. 17, 2017: Justice League
  • March 23, 2018: The Flash (we assume, based on the wording above)
  • July 27, 2018: Aquaman (Again, based on wording above)
  • April 5, 2019: Shazam
  • June 14, 2019: Justice League 2
  • April 3, 2020: Cyborg
  • June 19, 2020: Green Lantern