2008 Sundance Film Festival Award Winners

Sundance 2008

The 2008 Sundance Film Festival comes to a close tomorrow, and the award winners have just been announced. Here are the major winners from this year’s festival:

Alfred P Sloan Memorial Prize: Sleep Dealer

American Cinema:

Grand Jury Dramatic: Frozen River
Dramatic Audience Award:
The Wackness
Dramatic Screenwriting Award: Sleep Dealer, Alex Rivera, David Riker
Dramatic Directing Award: Lance Hammer, Ballast
Dramatic Special Jury Prize for “the Spirit of Independent Cinema”: Chusy Haney-Jardine for Anywhere, USA
Dramatic Special Jury Prize for “Work by an Ensemble Cast”: Sam Rockwell, Anjelica Huston, Kelly MacDonald and Brad Henke for Choke
Dramatic Cinematography Award: Ballast, Lol Crawley

Documentary Grand Jury Prize: Trouble the Water
Documentary Audience Award:
Fields of Fuel
Documentary Directing Award: Nanette Burnstein, American Teen
Documentary Special Jury Prize: The Greatest Silence: Rape in the Congo
Documentary Cinematography Award: Patti Smith: Dream of Life
Documentary Editing Award: Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired, Joe Bini

World Cinema:

Documentary Jury Prize: Man on Wire
Documentary Audience Award: Man on Wire
Documentary Cinematography Award: Mahmoud al Massad, Recycle
Documentary Editing Award: Irena Dol, The Art Star and the Sudanese Twins
Documentary Directing Award: Nino Kirtadze for Durakovo: Village of Fools

Dramatic Jury Prize: The King of Ping Pong
Dramatic Cinematography Award: Askilld Vik Edvardsen, King of Ping Pong
Dramatic Screenwriting: Samuel Benchetrit, I Always Wanted to be a Gangster
Dramatic Directing: Anna Melikyan, Mermaid
Dramatic Audience Award: Captain abu Raed

Short Films:

International Jury Prize: Soft
Jury Prize: My Olympic Summer and Sikumi

It’s great to see The Wackness, American Teen, Sleep Dealer and Choke took home some top awards.

Cool Posts From Around the Web: