New Star Wars Canon Timeline Infographic

After Disney purchased Lucasfilm, it was announced that the Star Wars Expanded Universe would not be considered canon going forward (instead being classified with the "LEGENDS" branding). This angered a lot of Star Wars fans, but the announcement also brought something cool to the table: all the Star Wars stories in the future would be developed under the guidance of the Star Wars story group and would be consider canon. That means that everything, from comic books to novels, animated television shows to video games, everything would be considered a real part of this new Star Wars history.

And over the last year, a lot of new Star Wars stories have been released. What does the current Star Wars canon timeline look like at this point? What is the order in which these stories taker place? Hit the jump to see an infographic.

Star Wars canon timeline

Star Wars poster by Zoltán Simon

The following graphic came from OuterPlaces. While the Star Wars canon timeline presents the stories in chronological order, that might not be the order that you should experience the story. For example, with the live-action feature films I've always loved Drew McWeeny's theory that kids should experience the story in the following order: A New Hope, Empire Strikes Back, Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, and Return of the Jedi.

This order is great because you flashback to Anakin Skywalker's story after the big reveal at the end of Empire Strikes Back. The prequels obviously explain too much and ruin the surprises and reveals of the original trilogy, but when presented in this order, it works as a cohesive story.  So while the following Star Wars canon timeline is presented chronologically, that might to be the best way to experience the events on a story level. Okay, enough babbling, here is the new Star Wars timeline:

* Please Note: the release date for the Han Solo origin film is wrong in the graphic. The film is set to hit theaters on May 25th 2018.

New Star Wars Canon Timeline

Star Wars Timeline | Outer Places