star wars episode 8 set pictures

In this edition of Episode 8 Bits:

  • Star Wars: Episode 8 helped Pinewood Studios achieve a banner year.
  • The complete Star Wars Celebration live stream schedule is here.
  • Preview some of the exclusive Star Wars Celebration merchandise.
  • Take a look at tons of photos from the Episode 8 wrap party.

The legendary Pinewood Studios has hosted countless gigantic film productions over the years, but the last twelve months have been a banner year for the company. The Hollywood Reporter reports that Star Wars: Episode 8 and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (and other major films like Spectre) have led to record profits for the Pinewood Group:

For the 12 months ended March 31, the company recorded operating profit of £13.6 million ($17.6 million) compared with £5.8 million for the previous year. Normalized profit after tax and earnings per share also rose.

Revenue at Europe’s largest provider of stage and studio space rose 11 percent, from £75.0 million for the previous fiscal year to £83.2 million, or $107.8 million.

Pinewood is currently in the process of building another five sound stages, an expansion that will make an already popular destination for Hollywood productions all the more lucrative.

star wars celebration

Star Wars Celebration kicks off in London tomorrow (our own Peter Sciretta will be on site to provide firsthand reporting), but don’t fret if you won’t be there – many of the major events and panels will be live streamed. StarWars.com has posted the complete schedule events that will be streamed, so take a look below and try to carve out some time. I certainly imagine that tomorrow’s Rogue One trailer will involve a new trailer…

Friday, July 15

11:00 a.m. BST / 6:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show Live! – Friday Preview

11:30 a.m. BST / 6:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 a.m. PDT
An Hour With Mark Hamill

1:00 p.m. BST / 8:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 a.m. PDT
Ahsoka’s Untold Tales

2:00 p.m. BST / 9:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 a.m. PDT
ILM Presents: Star Wars Archeology

3:45 p.m. BST / 10:45 a.m. EDT / 7:45 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show Live! – Rogue One Panel Preview

4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

5:00 p.m. BST / 12:00 p.m. EDT / 9:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show Live! – Rogue One Reaction

Saturday, July 16

10:00 a.m. BST / 5:00 a.m. EDT / 2:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show Live! – Saturday Preview

10:15 a.m. BST / 5:15 a.m. EDT / 2:15 a.m. PDT
Droids of The Force Awakens

12:00 p.m. BST / 7:00 a.m. EDT / 4:00 a.m. PDT
The Creatures, Droids & Aliens of Star Wars: The Force Awakens

1:00 p.m. BST / 8:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 a.m. PDT
Keeping Up With The Fetts

2:00 p.m. BST / 9:00 a.m. EDT / 6:00 a.m. PDT
Anthony Daniels, Without Protocol

4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Rebels Season 3

5:00 p.m. BST / 12:00 a.m. EDT / 9:00 a.m. PDT
Marvel’s Star Wars Comic Books

6:00 p.m. BST / 1:00 p.m. EDT / 10:00 a.m. PDT
MEET ILMxLAB: The Future of Immersive Entertainment

7:00 p.m. BST / 2:00 p.m. EDT / 11:00 a.m. PDT
The Minds Behind EA’s Star Wars Games

Sunday, July 17

10:00 a.m. BST / 5:00 a.m. EDT / 2:00 a.m. PDT
Star Wars Show Live! – Sunday Preview
, Tiya Sircar

10:15 a.m. BST / 5:15 a.m. EDT / 2:15 a.m. PDT
2016 Star Wars Fan Film Awards Ceremony

11:00 a.m. BST / 6:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 a.m. PDT
Carrie Fisher: The Princess Diaries

12:00 p.m. BST / 7:00 a.m. EDT / 4:00 a.m. PDT
Lucasfilm: The Art of Storytelling

1:00 p.m. BST / 8:00 a.m. EDT / 5:00 a.m. PDT
Ray Park Unleashed

4:00 p.m. BST / 11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT
Closing Ceremony

If you are attending, the event’s official site has shared all of the exclusive merchandise that will be available at the Celebration store, so feel free to start pre-shopping right over here. There’s a little bit of everything, but let’s just say you won’t be wanting for t-shirt options.

The Force Awakens Ending

A few weeks ago, Mark Hamill said that Star Wars: Episode 8 was going to wrap on July 22, 2016. While filming may continue in some capacity (and there will most likely be reshoots down the road because the production can afford that luxury), it seems that the production has already begun wrapping for much of the cast and crew. Daisy Ridley took to Instagram to announce that she was officially wrapped on the movie and if the main character of these new movies is finished, then you know things are really nearing an end. Most importantly, she revealed this news while sharing a terrific image of herself illuminated by her blue prop lightsaber.

And that is a wrap on Star Wars Episode VIII. My heart is brimming. #reyout

A photo posted by @daisyridley on

Hamill himself also used Instagram to let everyone know that he was wrapped on Episode 8 and he did so in the most complimentary fashion imaginable: by calling the production “the time of his life.” Aww. He also shared an image from the film’s wrap party, which apparently happened when no one was looking. I’ve attended  a wrap party or two for small, independent films in the past and they usually consist of tired people standing in circles drinking beers and eating finger foods. This is the kind of wrap party Disney money gets you.

Anyway, the big story in this edition of Episode 8 Bits is this wrap party, so I certainly hope you enjoy photos of handsome, famous, and talented people having a grand ‘ol time at the National History Museum in London. Although he wrapped earlier than Hamill and Ridley, John Boyega also took to social media before the wrap party to share his thoughts and thank his fans and count his blessings and so on.

Now, let’s turn our attention to actual shindig, which actually featured a spotlight shining a giant panda face on the museum’s exterior. This is a reference to the film’s fake working title, “Space Bear,” and this is the hilariously gaudy punchline to whole thing. With Star Wars Celebration kicking off tomorrow, we expect to learn Episode 8‘s actual title soon, so enjoy the panda while it lasts!

And yes, the “Space Bear” shenanigans continued inside the party, too.

Continue Reading Episode 8 Bits >>

Pages: 1 2Next page

Cool Posts From Around the Web: