2012 Viral: InstituteForHumanContinuity.org

/Film reader Kevin B came across a viral website from Roland Emmerich’s 2012. I checked the domain records, and the website points to a name server at Sony Pictures. So it seems like it might be legit. Here is the e-mail from Kevin:

After watching the teaser for Roland Emmerich’s 2012, I was curious about the whole concept and I took the trailer’s advice (I don’t know if anyone’s ever said a movie trailer gave them advice before…) and googled it.

I was interested to find that the first link, sponsored no less, was to a site with the URL “InstituteForHumanContinuity.org” and the tagline “Let Us Help You Prepare For 2012 Because Your Government Won’t.”  When I went to the site, I found myself scratching my head when the site wanted me to register for some kind of “lottery” that would “save” me (brings to mind Deep Impact, if you ask me).

I thought the site was interesting and immediately figured it was some sort of viral site that was made just to generate buzz about the movie, so I thought I should do my due diligence and inform the awesome writers of /Film.com who in turn, could inform their loyal readers of this suspicious website.

Anyways, like I said, love /Film and even if you knew about the site already, keep up the great work!

Sayonara,
Kevin B from WI

  • Interesting, in the new Cult of Cartman DVD Cartman mentions several times, '...and remember, we all die in 2012.' Wonder if there's a connection...
  • Alex
    The 2012 was around before the movie.
  • zinkywinks
    yet again.... yawn
  • larry
    this trailer got tons of laughs in my theater before quantum of solace.

    i guess the idea of an end-of-the-world movie set.... 4 years in the future... doesn't really seem all that interesting to most of the people there.
  • Square
    Agreed, the movie looks totally canned, but why no interest in the viral? Lottery numbers for the event sounds like a sweet buzz idea. Kind of like an invitation to the event. Far more clever than the typical flash games and crap we usually see on movie sites.
  • membrane
    the privacy policy there says the website is owned by sony.
  • Mont.ee
    Hmmm Now This Is Interesting, I Wonder If this'll be similar to the cloverfield viral campaign, because i was hooked on that lol...i got myself a lottery number anyways xD, JUST to be on the safe side ahahaha...
  • egyptnation
    2012 is when sarah palin will run for office! coincidence?.....
    maybe she is one of the 4 horsemen
  • Andy Allgood
    I just started a thread on Unfiction about this, with credit to /Film, and Kevin from WI of course...
  • Jim B.
    I just want to point out that in the privacy statement (http://www.instituteforhumancontinuity.org/privac...there is a link in the "Sweepstakes, Contests, Surveys, Other Special Promotions" section that takes you here (http://www.sonypictures.com/corp/privacy.html#dis...

    Also...

    "NOTE: If you enter a sweepstakes or contest related to the Institute for Human Continuity or 2012 on any third party's web site..."

    "if you wish to purchase any Institute for Human Continuity- or 2012-themed mobile content..."

    So yeah, I'm pretty sure Kevin B. was correct.
  • Interesting
    Style your statement and create a musical blog on at www.uploaded.tv with your short portfolio
  • Infinite Universe
    if you view the source code, they point back to sonypictures. no whois info available however. its a movie. its using ancient mayan predictions as a way to sell a movie. not bad if you ask me. they better save me a place on their space ship. to infinity and beyond!
  • colby_josh
    i saw an ad for this website on my local cable network in sandpoint,id i thought it was kind of weird
blog comments powered by Disqus